12 Lemons – NO EXCUSES

Have you ever been in a situation to where you have to back up your actions or requests, because someone else won’t own up to their own actions? Were you ever the person that didn’t own up to their mistakes or actions? Did you make crazy excuses to get yourself out of the situation when being to lazy own up to whatever mistake you did? Why not own up to that responsibility instead of having someone else do it for you? Change your mindset and actions, and make your life easier than it has to be.

Responsibility is a huge thing while growing up and if you have that lack of action, then that’ll get you nowhere. When it was my first year running track for my school, we had our first track meet which was to try to qualify for the Penn Relays in the 4by1, and I was the fourth leg and when it was my turn to get the stick I ran too fast and I didn’t get the stick. It was embarrassing, because I knew that I was the reason we lost, I didn’t want to say nor think that, so I made excuses. My dad showed me the video of what the problem was and he told me that it was basically my fault, because I started off too quickly before getting the stick. Once I finally came to the conclusion to stop fighting with myself I then took responsibility of my actions.

Everyone makes mistakes, but not everyone owns up to them. It can be hard taking responsibility for your actions, but it’s better to not go back and forth with someone else or even your self. Grow and take on  whatever big or small responsibilities you have and conquer them. Make your life better and improve instead of fighting and making excuses that no one cares to hear. “Great things from hard work and perseverance. No Excuses.”        – Kobe Bryant

Maya D.

Leave a Reply