The True Meaning of Christmas– What Are You Giving

What is the true meaning of Christmas for you? The true meaning of Christmas to me is all about the birth of Jesus Christ. It’s about Jesus our savior being born. One family tradition we share to be reminded of this every Christmas is laying Jesus into the manger every Christmas morning. Before my family gets to open our presents we lay Jesus in the manger to be reminded that Jesus was born.

Have you ever needed to be reminded that Christmas is really about giving and not about getting, and ultimately that it’s the celebration of Jesus’ birth?  During the Christmas season I sometimes loose thoughts and just worry about my Christmas list and what I’m going to receive. sometimes I need that little reminder that its about giving too. I always tend to get my sibling and parents a present every year but when I give I always expect to get a present in return. I always remind my siblings what I want because I’m more focused on me than them.

My family and I have a lot of traditions we share with each other. Every day in advent leading up to Christmas we light the advent wreath and say a prayer every day. During the Christmas season my family tends to go to Mass more often not just on Sundays. Also, The most important tradition we share with each other is giving and sharing presents with each other. I find this tradition very  important because seeing my siblings and parents gratefulness while opening the present is the best feeling.

The best gift I have given someone was to my mom. It wasn’t the biggest or most expensive gift, it was a little prayer card with the prayer if Father Bill Atkinson. It was laminated and was put in a hand made card that I have made. My mom opened my card and smiled. I still remember the moment she opened the card to see I gave her a prayer. Every Christmas Eve from that year on my family says the prayer during Christmas Eve dinner. That one little small prayer meant so much to not just my mom but my family.

Natalie M.

Leave a Reply